Back from 11th Cuban Mission Trip

I am back in the US after my 11th Mission trip to Cuba, a 16 day venture that took me to Havana, Pinar del Rio, Matanzas, and Santa Clara. I got to congratulate Jaime Cardinal Ortega on the 50th anniversary of his Ordination. I attended Mass twice the Damas de Blanco (Ladies in White) and shared with them IRS documents to show them how much ‘Cuban Democracy Funds’ are being looted and pilfered by various parasites in Miami affiliated with the woman known in Cuba as La Cochino (the male swine) Ileana Ros Lehtinen. They were floored. I also showed them the benefit of tourism to their cause and they agreed. And I came to learn more about the attitude of everyday Cubans towards them.

I had the opportunity to travel on the team bus of one of the countries most revered baseball teams, something never done by an American. I convinced a young man who had left Havana for Matanzas to return home just in time for the birth of his son and to reunite with his girlfriend.

In Havana, posing as a well-heeled American I went in search of kiddie sex, a favorite topic of US Senator Bob Menendez and the ethically impotent and intellectually barren Mauricio Claver (this is America speak English and use one last name). These two men may get their thrills talking about it but it does not exist and I was lucky not to find myself on the leading edge of a machete.

Finally my assistant in Cuba, Luis, has come with me to the US for a 10 weeks visit having obtained a B-1/2 Visa earlier this year. From a Havana barrio to American Airlines’ First Class. Seeing him in awe at Best Buy, trying on $500 suits at Dillards, has been an awesome experience.

20140801_194204

I will be writing about all of the points in upcoming posts.

Leave a Reply

